Oops!

So several weeks ago I wrote a little post, and thought I had published it, and then was about to respond snarkishly to a friend’s email in which she commented on no post since January….and lo, there it was, languishing in draft status. So I just put it out there anyway, though it is quite belated!
It is evening and we have just returned from getting the rest of our stuff out of storage in South Portland and out here in a u haul. Though it has been almost a year since we moved to the island, it felt odd to be cramming the last thing in, closing the door on the echoing storage space, pulling the truck door down and heading north. We’re not that far away, but this time leaving Portland I felt a bit melancholy…but then spring always makes me feel that way, especially Easter. I was also wondering what on earth possessed me to save some of the stuff that was in storage, considering that we lived without it perfectly well all this time. Like a jar of marbles. Did we really need to pay ninety dollars a month to store that?
I’m not going to show you any pictures of the finished kitchen in the barn yet, because we are about to take some good ones with which to enter the This Old House Renovation contest which I will then post. We seem to have been bitten by the contest-entering bug, and we’ve already done most of the work, so why not?
Here are a few pictures from a walk on the Huber Preserve…

20120330-202409.jpg

20120330-202629.jpg

20120330-202657.jpg

20120330-202711.jpg

20120330-202732.jpg

20120330-202235.jpg

4 thoughts on “Oops!

  1. whoa. holy bearded islander! good luck on the contest. I don’t see how you could lose. Isaac, when told of the contest, immediately said, “I hope it’s not a Ford.” As if you had already won. A good sign, I think. (or maybe just typical Isaac)

  2. I was TOTALLY going to recommend you enter a TOH contest! Glad you did so, I’ll be looking for you in an upcoming issue.
    Actually I was really going to recommend that you pitch HGTV on doing a series the chronicles your whole process, but I thought of that idea too late (after you’d already started). 😦
    Happy spring!

    • Hi Jay – happy spring to you too! We are on the TOH website in the 2012 entries, I just mailed you the link to our page, but there are some far grander efforts than ours. Sure could use that new truck though! Annie

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a comment